TEACHER GUIDES
Free AI Tools for Teachers
“Free” means something different for every AI tool. One limits how much you can make, one makes you wait a bit between uses, one limits how long you keep things, and one limits how many Spaces you can launch. Here’s what each company says you get without paying.
Free AI Plans Compared
| Tool | Free Plan Details | Price And Privacy |
|---|---|---|
Free Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits 80+ teacher tools, Raina chatbot, Quizzes, Class Writing Feedback Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026Limited (Plus advertises 'unlimited generations'; free cap number not stated) Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026Limited (Plus advertises unlimited; free amount not stated) Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Plus $8.33/mo billed annually ($99.96/yr) or $12.99/mo Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor states FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR, Ed Law 2-D compliant; Common Sense Privacy Certified; does not use student or teacher data to train AI. Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Free Teacher Tools Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits Teachers with a teacher-role Khan Academy account, in a supported language and location Confirmedsupport.khanacademy.orgLast checked October 17, 2026Lesson planning, student work summaries, rubrics, exit tickets, learning objectives, chat history Confirmedwww.khanmigo.aiLast checked October 17, 2026Not in the free teacher tools. Students get it through a paid learner plan or a district deal Confirmedsupport.khanacademy.orgLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Learner and family plans are $4/month or $44/year. District pricing is by request. Confirmedwww.khanmigo.aiLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says: Khan says Khanmigo isn't meant for personal info and asks teachers to keep student names and details out of chats. Confirmedsupport.khanacademy.orgLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Educator Free Yes, with limitsChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits A few times a day. Brisk says you can usually get back in after about 30 minutes, and it shifts with traffic (no exact number) Confirmedhelp.briskteaching.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Brisk's own pages disagree. A Brisk blog post says Educator Pro is $14.99 (no billing period given). The Pro page shows no price. Conflictingwww.briskteaching.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says Brisk is FERPA, COPPA and GDPR compliant. Confirmedwww.briskteaching.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Free Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits | Cheapest Paid Plan No individual paid plan; Pro and Scale are sold only through a school or district purchase. Price not published. Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor states FERPA and COPPA compliant, SOC 2 Type 2, 1EdTech certified; AI providers contractually bound never to train on or sell student data; standard DPA agreed via ToS on Free. Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Basic (free) Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits PDF, print, share; export to Google/Canva/Microsoft is paid Confirmedweb.diffit.meLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Individual teacher subscription $14.99/mo or $149.99/yr (US); school licenses priced by enrollment Confirmedweb.diffit.meLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says: no student logins, no student AI, collects no student data; FERPA and COPPA compliant. Confirmedweb.diffit.meLast checked October 17, 2026 |
| Socrative Free Yes, with limitsChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits 15 question generations, 6 imports, 3 report analyses Confirmedwww.socrative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownwww.socrative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Formative Free (Free Teacher) Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits | Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownnewsela.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Basic Yes, with limitsChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits Included with limits. Pro gets unlimited use (the free cap isn't stated) Confirmededpuzzle.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownedpuzzle.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Starter (Basic) Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits Wayground AI included (limits not stated; varies by region) Confirmedhelp.wayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Privacy Vendor says it complies with and helps schools meet FERPA and COPPA; students can use it without accounts or sharing PII unless a feature requires it; DPA available on request. Confirmedhelp.wayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Seesaw Starter Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits | Privacy Vendor says it complies with FERPA, COPPA, GDPR, LGPD, MFIPPA and the Australian Privacy Act, is SOC Type II compliant, has signed the National Data Privacy Agreement, and never sells or rents data. Confirmedseesaw.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Kahoot! Go Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits Not included (PDF/URL/topic-to-kahoot marked '-' for free) Confirmedkahoot.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Privacy Vendor says: Free-form question types are blocked for students under 16 for GDPR/COPPA/FERPA reasons unless on Kahoot! EDU. Confirmedkahoot.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Teacher Free Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free AI And Its Limits Pricing page says the AI tools are free for teachers with no usage limits, but Pear Deck's help docs say the free individual Pear Start plan is gone Conflictingdocs.goguardian.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownwww.peardeck.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Sources, all checked Oct 17, 2026:
- Brisk: usage limit help article, Educator Pro page, Brisk blog for the $14.99
- Diffit: Diffit pricing, individual subscription
- Khanmigo: Khanmigo pricing, supported locations, student tutor sign-up
- MagicSchool: MagicSchool pricing
- SchoolAI: SchoolAI pricing, SchoolAI’s free plan post
Two Quick Updates
- SchoolAI changed this summer. Its free plan is now capped at 5 Space sessions per year, and the Presentation Creator, Flashcards, Mindmap and Video Explorer PowerUps moved to paid plans. SchoolAI posted this on July 15, 2026; the post doesn’t say exactly when it took effect. (SchoolAI blog, checked Oct 17, 2026) See the change entry.
- Khanmigo’s teacher tools stay free. Khan says core teacher features, including the Khanmigo Teacher Tools, stay free in the redesigned Khan Academy, which rolled out to US teachers in late June 2026. Khan also says the free teacher tools are funded through a partnership with Microsoft. (Khan Academy redesign, why it’s free, both checked Oct 17, 2026)
AI Inside Tools You Might Already Use
- Socrative: 15 question generations, 6 imports, 3 report analyses. (Socrative plans, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Formative: AI is included on Free; limits aren’t stated. (Formative, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Edpuzzle: Teacher Assist AI is included with limits, and Pro gets unlimited use. The free cap isn’t stated. (Edpuzzle pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Wayground: Wayground AI is included on Starter (Basic). Limits aren’t stated and vary by region. (Wayground help center, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Seesaw: Starter includes “a set amount” of AI credits. Seesaw doesn’t say how many. (Seesaw, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Kahoot: AI creation (PDF, URL or topic to kahoot) isn’t included on the free Go plan. (Kahoot plans, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Pear Deck: it’s unclear. Pear Deck’s pricing page says its AI tools are free for teachers with no usage limits, but its help docs say the free individual Pear Start plan is gone. (Pear Deck pricing, Pear Start help doc, both checked Oct 17, 2026)
What The Companies Say About Data
We don’t rate privacy. Here’s what each company says about itself:
- Brisk says it is FERPA, COPPA and GDPR compliant. (Brisk blog, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Diffit says it has no student logins and no student AI, collects no student data, and is FERPA and COPPA compliant. (Diffit pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Khan Academy says Khanmigo isn’t meant for personal info and asks teachers to keep student names and details out of chats. (Khanmigo guidelines for educators, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- MagicSchool says it’s FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR and Ed Law 2-D compliant, Common Sense Privacy Certified, and doesn’t use student or teacher data to train AI. (MagicSchool, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- SchoolAI says it’s FERPA and COPPA compliant, SOC 2 Type 2 and 1EdTech certified, that its AI providers are contractually bound never to train on or sell student data, and that the free plan’s standard DPA is agreed to through its terms of service. (SchoolAI, checked Oct 17, 2026)
Your district may have its own approved list, so check that first.
FAQ
Is MagicSchool free? Yes, there’s a free plan. Generations and history are limited, and MagicSchool doesn’t say by how much.
Is Khanmigo free for teachers? Yes, the Khanmigo Teacher Tools are free for teacher-role Khan Academy accounts in supported languages and locations. (Khanmigo pricing, supported locations, both checked Oct 17, 2026)
How often can I use Brisk for free? A few times a day. Brisk says you can usually get back in after about 30 minutes, and it shifts with traffic (no exact number). (Brisk help center, checked Oct 17, 2026)
How many Spaces can I launch on SchoolAI for free? 5 per year. (SchoolAI pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)
Does Diffit keep my stuff? On Basic: Access content made in the last 90 days. (Diffit pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)