Still Free?

TEACHER GUIDES

MagicSchool vs SchoolAI: Free Plans Compared

Both have a free plan. They just put the limit in different places. MagicSchool limits how much you generate. SchoolAI limits how many Spaces you can launch. Here’s the side by side.

Side By Side

FREE PLANS COMPARED
ToolFree Plan DetailsPrice And Privacy
MagicSchool

Free

Yep, still free!

Checked October 17, 2026

Free AI And Its Limits

80+ teacher tools, Raina chatbot, Quizzes, Class Writing Feedback

Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026

Limited (Plus advertises 'unlimited generations'; free cap number not stated)

Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026

Limited (Plus advertises unlimited; free amount not stated)

Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Plus $8.33/mo billed annually ($99.96/yr) or $12.99/mo

Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor states FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR, Ed Law 2-D compliant; Common Sense Privacy Certified; does not use student or teacher data to train AI.

Confirmedwww.magicschool.aiLast checked October 17, 2026
SchoolAI

Free

Yes, but it recently changed

Checked October 17, 2026

Free AI And Its Limits

PowerUps, Tools, Assistants, Chat with Dot

Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026

200,000+

Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026

5 per year

Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026

10MB limit, within Space session limit

Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

No individual paid plan; Pro and Scale are sold only through a school or district purchase. Price not published.

Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor states FERPA and COPPA compliant, SOC 2 Type 2, 1EdTech certified; AI providers contractually bound never to train on or sell student data; standard DPA agreed via ToS on Free.

Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Sources, all checked Oct 17, 2026: MagicSchool pricing; SchoolAI pricing and SchoolAI’s free plan post (paid plans and the July 15 change; the post doesn’t give an exact effective date).

A Few More Details

  • MagicSchool: output history is limited on Free (the amount isn’t stated). Free includes “essential teacher and student tools”, and “50+ student tools” are listed under Plus. (MagicSchool pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)
  • SchoolAI: uploads are capped at 10MB within the Space session limit, the browser extension is limited, and LMS integration and rostering aren’t included on Free. (SchoolAI pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)

In Plain Words

  • If you mostly want help making stuff (plans, quizzes, feedback), MagicSchool’s free plan is mostly teacher tools. Just know MagicSchool doesn’t publish the generation cap.
  • If you want SchoolAI Spaces, the free plan gives you 5 launches a year. For more than that, your school or district has to buy it, since SchoolAI doesn’t sell plans to individual teachers.

What They Say About Data

We don’t rate privacy. In each company’s own words:

  • MagicSchool says it’s FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR and Ed Law 2-D compliant, Common Sense Privacy Certified, and doesn’t use student or teacher data to train AI. (MagicSchool, checked Oct 17, 2026)
  • SchoolAI says it’s FERPA and COPPA compliant, SOC 2 Type 2 and 1EdTech certified, and its AI providers are contractually bound never to train on or sell student data. On Free, the standard DPA is agreed to through its terms of service. (SchoolAI, checked Oct 17, 2026)

FAQ

How many generations does MagicSchool give you for free? MagicSchool doesn’t publish the number. Its pricing page just says Plus gets “unlimited generations”. (MagicSchool pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)

What about Brisk and Khanmigo? Both have free teacher plans. Khanmigo’s Teacher Tools are free for teacher-role Khan Academy accounts in supported places, and Brisk’s Educator Free gives you 20+ tools a few times a day. (Khanmigo pricing, Brisk help center, Brisk Educator Pro, all checked Oct 17, 2026) More on Free AI Tools for Teachers.

Keep Going