Is Formative Still Free?
Yes, but it recently changed The big limit: Activities: Unlimited activity creation and all assign modes
Formative Free (Free Teacher)
Free Plan Limits
| Limit | What you get | How sure we are |
|---|---|---|
| Activities | Unlimited activity creation and all assign modes | Confirmed www.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
| Page uploads | 200 pages a month | Confirmed help.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
| Grading | Basic auto-grading. Advanced auto-grading and rubrics are paid | Confirmed www.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
| Question types | Advanced question types are paid | Confirmed www.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
| Luna AI | Included (limits not stated) | Confirmed www.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Cheapest Paid Plan
Classroom plan $249/year per teacher ($20.75/month billed annually)
Confirmedwww.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy
Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet
Unknownnewsela.comLast checked October 17, 2026We don't rate privacy. For that, read the vendor's own privacy and FERPA pages.
Notes
Pricing page
Formative's pricing page only lists paid plans. The free plan is on the For Teachers page.
www.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026What Changed
- More free
FormativeYes, but it recently changed Page upload limit for free teachers not stated → 200 page uploads a month
What the source said
"In addition, the amount of page uploads available to Free Teacher account holder has increased to 200 pages per month."
help.formative.com