TEACHER GUIDES
Free Plan Changes in 2026
If something in your go-to tool suddenly asked you to upgrade this year, youβre not imagining it. Hereβs every free plan change weβve confirmed in 2026, newest first, with a link to where it was announced. One of them is even good news.
| Tool | Free Plan Details | Price And Privacy |
|---|---|---|
Free-for-Teacher (ended) Nope, not anymoreChecked October 17, 2026 | Current Limits Canvas Lite (free): 5 published courses, 50 learners per course, 500 MB per course, teacher ID and selfie check Confirmedwww.instructure.comLast checked October 17, 2026No course analytics, Roll Call attendance, API tokens or Classic Quizzes in Canvas Lite Confirmedsites.udel.eduLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Not stated on the vendor's page: Full Canvas is an institution license with no public price. Canvas Lite is free. Unknownwww.instructure.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownwww.instructure.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Starter (Basic) Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Current Limits Basic types; premium question types restricted Confirmedhelp.wayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Individual (Super) plan $18/mo billed annually ($216/yr), 7-day free trial; School & District pricing not published Confirmedwayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says it complies with and helps schools meet FERPA and COPPA; students can use it without accounts or sharing PII unless a feature requires it; DPA available on request. Confirmedhelp.wayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Free Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Current Limits | Cheapest Paid Plan No individual paid plan; Pro and Scale are sold only through a school or district purchase. Price not published. Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor states FERPA and COPPA compliant, SOC 2 Type 2, 1EdTech certified; AI providers contractually bound never to train on or sell student data; standard DPA agreed via ToS on Free. Confirmedschoolai.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Seesaw Starter Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Current Limits | Cheapest Paid Plan Not stated on the vendor's page: No individual teacher plan; school-wide subscriptions priced by enrollment. No price published on Seesaw's pages checked. Unknownseesaw.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says it complies with FERPA, COPPA, GDPR, LGPD, MFIPPA and the Australian Privacy Act, is SOC Type II compliant, has signed the National Data Privacy Agreement, and never sells or rents data. Confirmedseesaw.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Formative Free (Free Teacher) Yes, but it recently changedChecked October 17, 2026 | Current Limits | Cheapest Paid Plan Classroom plan $249/year per teacher ($20.75/month billed annually) Confirmedwww.formative.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownnewsela.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Starter Yes, with limitsChecked October 17, 2026 | Current Limits | Cheapest Paid Plan Pro $11.99/month or $89.99/year. Education Group is $160/year for 1 teacher and 30 students. Confirmedwakelet.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownwakelet.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Confirmed Changes In 2026
- Ended
Canvas Free-for-TeacherNope, not anymore One-week export window for old Free-for-Teacher courses β Old Free-for-Teacher content no longer available
What the source said
"After October 6, the old content is no longer available."
www.canvasinsider.blog - Replaced
Canvas Free-for-TeacherNope, not anymore Free-for-Teacher (shut down in May 2026) β Canvas Lite launched as the free replacement, with 5 course, 50 learner and 500 MB caps
What the source said
"Canvas Lite goes live worldwide on September 30, 2026, at canvaslite.instructure.com."
www.instructure.com - Cut
Wayground (formerly Quizizz)Yes, but it recently changed Free-For-Schools plan: could create and edit resources with premium question types β Moved to Starter (Basic): can still use existing premium-question resources but cannot edit them or create new ones with premium question types; unlimited AI usage
What the source said
"Starting Sep 1st, 2026, all Free-For-Schools users will be moved to the new Starter (Basic) plan." "You can create resources with premium question types through August. After that, you can still use any resources you created earlier, but you won't be able to edit them or create new ones with premium question types."
help.wayground.com - Cut
SchoolAIYes, but it recently changed Not stated on SchoolAI's pages checked β Free plan capped at 5 Space sessions per year; Presentation Creator, Flashcards, Mindmap and Video Explorer PowerUps moved to paid plans
What the source said
"Free trial accounts now include five Space sessions per year." "Select PowerUps: The Presentation Creator, Flashcards, Mindmap, and Video Explorer are reserved for paid plans." (Date is the blog's publication date; effective date not stated.)
schoolai.com - Cut
SeesawYes, but it recently changed Not stated on Seesaw's pages checked β New Starter limits: 1 active class, 1 teacher per class, 35 students per class, 35 saved activities, 5 media per post
What the source said
"Seesaw Starter will include updated limits on new content going forward. Here is what Seesaw Starter will include: one active class per teacher account, one teacher per class, up to 35 students per class, up to 35 saved activities, and five multimedia attachments per journal post."
seesaw.com - More free
FormativeYes, but it recently changed Page upload limit for free teachers not stated β 200 page uploads a month
What the source said
"In addition, the amount of page uploads available to Free Teacher account holder has increased to 200 pages per month."
help.formative.com
Just Before 2026: Wakelet
- Cut
WakeletYes, with limits Free plan before the Starter caps (old limits not stated) β Starter plan: 3 editable collections, 50 items each, join 3, 100 bookmarks
What the source said
"If you haven't upgraded yet, from November 1st 2025, your account will have moved to a Starter Plan. This means: You can edit up to 3 collections..."
help.wakelet.com
FAQ
How do you decide what counts as a change? It has to be on a page we can link to, with a date. Reddit threads and news posts tip us off, but they donβt go in the log until thereβs a source.
Are any of these tools no longer free? Canvas Free-for-Teacher is gone; Canvas Lite is the free replacement, with caps. Wayground, SchoolAI and Seesaw all still have free plans; theyβre just smaller.
How do I hear about the next one? Get the Email, or follow the RSS feed.
Keep Going
- See What Changed (the full running log)
- Free Wayground (Quizizz) Alternatives
- MagicSchool vs SchoolAI
- All Tools