Still Free?

TEACHER GUIDES

How Many Students Can Join for Free?

Nothing kills review day faster than “game full” halfway through joining. Here’s how many students can join each tool on its free plan, according to the company itself.

Player Limits And Class Caps

FREE PLANS COMPARED
ToolFree Plan DetailsPrice And Privacy
Kahoot!

Kahoot! Go

Yep, still free!

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

40 for K-12 school teacher accounts on Kahoot! Go (10 on Go for personal, study and higher-ed accounts)

Confirmedsupport.kahoot.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Kahoot!+ Bronze $3/mo billed annually ($36/yr)

Confirmedkahoot.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says: Free-form question types are blocked for students under 16 for GDPR/COPPA/FERPA reasons unless on Kahoot! EDU.

Confirmedkahoot.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Blooket

Starter (free)

Yep, still free!

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

60 (Plus: 300, except some modes capped at 60)

Confirmedhelp.blooket.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Plus $4.99/mo billed annually ($59.88) or $9.99 monthly

Confirmedhelp.blooket.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says it works with schools to protect Student Personal Data consistent with FERPA and, for School Users under 13, COPPA; students invited to play are asked only to create a username.

Confirmedwww.blooket.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Gimkit

Gimkit Basic

Yep, still free!

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

Unlimited students in featured modes; hard cap 500 per live game and 60 in 2D modes; Pro Exclusive modes capped at 5 players on Basic

Confirmedhelp.gimkit.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Pro $59.88/yr or $14.99/mo

Confirmedhelp.gimkit.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says it adheres to FERPA and COPPA and offers state/district signed DPAs on request via [email protected].

Confirmedhelp.gimkit.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Wayground (formerly Quizizz)

Starter (Basic)

Yes, but it recently changed

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

Up to 100

Confirmedhelp.wayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Individual (Super) plan $18/mo billed annually ($216/yr), 7-day free trial; School & District pricing not published

Confirmedwayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says it complies with and helps schools meet FERPA and COPPA; students can use it without accounts or sharing PII unless a feature requires it; DPA available on request.

Confirmedhelp.wayground.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Nearpod

Silver

Yep, still free!

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

40

Confirmednearpod.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Gold $159/yr (1 GB, 75 joins); Platinum $397/yr (5 GB, 90 joins)

Confirmednearpod.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor FAQ says Nearpod complies with COPPA, FERPA and state laws such as CCPA and Nevada SB 220; districts can review Renaissance's Customer Data Protection Agreement; Renaissance's privacy and security programs undergo annual SOC 2 Type 2 examinations.

Confirmednearpod.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Seesaw

Seesaw Starter

Yes, but it recently changed

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

35

Confirmedseesaw.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Not stated on the vendor's page: No individual teacher plan; school-wide subscriptions priced by enrollment. No price published on Seesaw's pages checked.

Unknownseesaw.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says it complies with FERPA, COPPA, GDPR, LGPD, MFIPPA and the Australian Privacy Act, is SOC Type II compliant, has signed the National Data Privacy Agreement, and never sells or rents data.

Confirmedseesaw.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Pear Deck

Teacher Free

Yep, still free!

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

Unlimited presentations, interactive questions, sessions and participants

Confirmedwww.peardeck.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Teacher Premium $149/year

Confirmedwww.peardeck.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet

Unknownwww.peardeck.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Socrative

Free

Yes, with limits

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

50

Confirmedwww.socrative.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Not stated on the vendor's page: The Essentials price didn't show when we checked Socrative's pricing. Pro is $200.04/year for 2 seats.

Unknownwww.socrative.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet

Unknownwww.socrative.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Quizlet

Free teacher account

Yes, with limits

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

Up to 7 a day, up to 100 students each, up to 90 minutes, no student accounts needed (US and some other countries)

Confirmedhelp.quizlet.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Not stated on the vendor's page: Quizlet Plus for teachers price not checked (quizlet.com blocked our fetch)

Unknownquizlet.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet

Unknownquizlet.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Book Creator

Free (Starter)

Yes, with limits

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

Unlimited

Confirmedintercom.helpLast checked October 17, 2026

1 library with up to 40 books, plus 40 more in your private My Books

Confirmedbookcreator.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Premium $14/month or $150/year per teacher (1,000 books, unlimited libraries)

Confirmedintercom.helpLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet

Unknownbookcreator.comLast checked October 17, 2026
Canvas Free-for-Teacher

Free-for-Teacher (ended)

Nope, not anymore

Checked October 17, 2026

How Many Can Join

Canvas Lite (free): 5 published courses, 50 learners per course, 500 MB per course, teacher ID and selfie check

Confirmedwww.instructure.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Cheapest Paid Plan

Not stated on the vendor's page: Full Canvas is an institution license with no public price. Canvas Lite is free.

Unknownwww.instructure.comLast checked October 17, 2026

Privacy

Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet

Unknownwww.instructure.comLast checked October 17, 2026

The class caps above apply to saved classes and courses, rather than live games.

The Kahoot Fine Print

Kahoot’s numbers depend on who’s playing:

  • K-12 school teacher accounts on Go: 40 live, 40 assigned.
  • Home, study and higher ed accounts on Go: 10 live, 10 assigned.
  • Younger students: Kahoot says “Young students (under 13 in the U.S., under 14 in Korea, and under 16 elsewhere) have stricter privacy protections. On a Kahoot! Go plan, they are limited to exactly 10 players in Classic mode.”

All from the Kahoot help center (updated Oct 15, 2026; checked Oct 17, 2026).

FAQ

Which free tool fits the most students? By the companies’ own numbers, Pear Deck says unlimited participants on Teacher Free. Next come Gimkit’s featured modes (up to the 500 hard cap), then Wayground and Quizlet’s Student Pass at 100.

Is 40 enough for one class? It covers a class of up to 40. For two classes combined or an assembly, look at Pear Deck, Gimkit or Wayground. And on Kahoot, check the under-13 rule above.

What if I need more than 40 on Nearpod? Silver gives you 40 “student joins per lesson”. Gold ($159/yr) raises it to 75 joins and Platinum ($397/yr) to 90. (Nearpod pricing, checked Oct 17, 2026)

Is Canvas Free-for-Teacher still around? No. It shut down in May 2026, and Canvas Lite replaced it on Sept 30, 2026, with the caps above. (University of Delaware Canvas team, Instructure, both checked Oct 17, 2026)

Keep Going