TEACHER GUIDES
Free Elementary Math Tools
Good news first: three of the math tools we track say their teacher side is free. The fourth, IXL, is the one to read closely. Here’s what each company says.
The Free Plans Side By Side
| Tool | Free Plan Details | Price And Privacy |
|---|---|---|
Free for teachers Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free Math And Teacher Tools Free: classes, assignments, test prep, placement test, reports, class goals and rewards Confirmedwww.prodigygame.comLast checked October 17, 2026Math for grades 1 to 8, English for grades 1 to 6 Confirmedwww.prodigygame.comLast checked October 17, 2026Paid family memberships add pets, gear and more game perks. Learning questions stay free Confirmedwww.prodigygame.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Family memberships start at Core $9.95/month or $58.95/year. Teachers don't need one. Confirmedwww.prodigygame.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says it's certified by iKeepSafe for FERPA, COPPA and CSPC and uses a form of the National Data Privacy Agreement. Confirmedwww.prodigygame.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Free for educators Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free Math And Teacher Tools Free: adaptive paths, assignments from 1,700+ skills, reports, login cards Confirmedwww.boddlelearning.comLast checked October 17, 2026All of it is free. Premium only adds game rewards and items Confirmedwww.boddlelearning.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Premium (families) $5.83/month billed yearly Confirmedwww.boddlelearning.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says it complies with FERPA and COPPA and has no player-to-player chat. Confirmedwww.boddlelearning.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Free teacher account Yep, still free!Checked October 17, 2026 | Free Math And Teacher Tools 1,000+ interactive K-12 lessons in math, literacy and science Confirmedamplify.comLast checked October 17, 2026Included: build or edit lessons, pacing, snapshots, multiple classes, co-teachers Confirmedamplify.comLast checked October 17, 2026 | Cheapest Paid Plan Not stated on the vendor's page: Paid curricula (Amplify Desmos Math, CKLA) run on the same platform; no public price Unknownamplify.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says Amplify Classroom is built to support FERPA and COPPA compliance and acts as a school official. Confirmedamplify.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
No free teacher plan (free practice without signing in) Yes, with limitsChecked October 17, 2026 | Free Math And Teacher Tools 10 questions in each subject when not signed in, and progress isn't saved Confirmedwww.ixl.comLast checked October 17, 2026Not tracked yet | Cheapest Paid Plan Classroom licenses start at $349/year for 25 students Confirmedwww.ixl.comLast checked October 17, 2026Privacy Vendor says: Not stated on the vendor's page: We haven't read this privacy page yet Unknownwww.ixl.comLast checked October 17, 2026 |
Heads Up About Family Upsells
Prodigy and Boddle are free for teachers, but both sell extras to families. Prodigy’s paid memberships add pets, gear and more game perks, and Boddle Premium adds game rewards and items. Both say the learning itself stays free. (Prodigy prices, Boddle Premium, both checked Oct 17, 2026) Worth a heads up in your family newsletter so nobody thinks they have to pay.
What The Companies Say About Data
We don’t rate privacy. In each company’s own words:
- Amplify says Amplify Classroom is built to support FERPA and COPPA compliance and acts as a school official. (Amplify Classroom, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Boddle says it complies with FERPA and COPPA and has no player-to-player chat. (Boddle Premium, checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Prodigy says it’s certified by iKeepSafe for FERPA, COPPA and CSPC and uses a form of the National Data Privacy Agreement. (Prodigy for teachers, checked Oct 17, 2026)
Check your district’s approved list too.
FAQ
Is Prodigy free for teachers? Yes. Prodigy says its teacher tools are free, including classes, assignments, test prep, the placement test and reports. Teachers don’t need a membership. (Prodigy for teachers, Prodigy prices, both checked Oct 17, 2026)
Is IXL free? Not for classes. Without signing in, students get 10 questions per subject and progress isn’t saved. Past that, there’s a 30-day classroom trial, then licenses start at $349/yr for 25 students. (IXL Practice Guide, IXL pricing, both checked Oct 17, 2026)
Is Desmos Classroom still free? It’s called Amplify Classroom now, and yes, teachers can sign up free. (Amplify Classroom, checked Oct 17, 2026)
Do kindergarteners fit? Prodigy’s math starts at grade 1. Amplify Classroom’s lessons cover K-12. (Prodigy, Amplify, both checked Oct 17, 2026)